Glutino Gluten-Free Toaster Pastry … A Surprise From My GFF!

4

This week I discovered a new term from Glam Without Gluten, that I love: GFF … i.e. Gluten-Free Friend.  I thought this was very clever to use a phrase that is equally as catchy as the widely recognized phrase, BFF. Glam’s blog is full of great posts and videos. You should check her out!! 🙂

A few weeks back I first mentioned my GFF in my post titled “Become A Promiscuous Shopper“.  Once again, she returned from the States and this time she surprised me with Glutino‘s take on a gluten-free version of the popular Pop-Tart. She picked up a box of each variety, and split between us. The pastries are individually wrapped with no markings, so when she swapped two Apple Cinnamon toaster pastries from my box with two Strawberry pastries from her box, I had no idea which flavour it would be until just before popping it into my toaster bag at work. Quelle surprise! 😉

Glutino Gluten-Free Toaster Pastry

Now, it’s been likely 15, if not 20 years since I ate my last Pop Tart. I went through a spurt of eating them when I was a kid but I found (for me, personally) that the texture was a bit too dry, and the ones that were coated in icing were too sweet while the plain ones seemed like they were missing something. I later started eating Toaster Strudels, and fancied those more because the pastry was slightly more moist, the filling was a little more gooey, and it came with a pack of soft icing that I could apply to my individual liking. Like I said, it’s been at least 15 years since I had either of these … so my memory isn’t quite as reliable for comparing to the non-gluten-free versions of the Pop-Tart and Toaster Strudel … but the Glutino version reminded me somewhat of a cross between the two (minus the packet of icing). This quick breakfast option isn’t available in Newfoundland yet (and perhaps even Canada), but hopefully they start popping up on shelves soon as it’s a quick and easy breakfast option when you’re too busy to prepare breakfast ahead of time, and unlike the majority of the population where you can’t just pop out to the nearest coffee shop to get a quick snack.

Thanks again to my GFF for my GF Surprise!! 🙂

Have you had a chance to try these breakfast toaster pastries out? What did you think? What’s your favourite flavour?

4 comments on “Glutino Gluten-Free Toaster Pastry … A Surprise From My GFF!

  1. Amanda says:

    I used to love toaster strudels as a kid. I haven’t tried the Glutino pop tarts but i was never much a fan of the originals either! Nice of your GFF to bring you back some though!

    • Yeah, she usually always brings back items that we can’t buy here and always treats me to an item or two. In addition to these she also brought back some egg nog covered almonds that are (or at this point I should say were) dangerously tasty 😉

  2. Linda says:

    I was at a gluten-free convention last summer and they gave out whole boxes of these wonderful toaster pastries for free. Mine was strawberry and like you said, it tasted exactly like a cross between a pop tart and a frozen toaster pastry, only better and not at all greasy. They were wonderful and the people from Glutino said that they were available in Canada, but no matter where I search or who I ask, I can’t find them anywhere. Glutino’s web site isn’t helpful either. They just tell me to find places that sell Glutino products. Where did your GFF find them in the States? I’ll ask my friend to pick me up some too.

    • Hi Linda. She said that she got them at Whole Foods, although she has seen them all over the place since then ( they were still a very new item at that time and Whole Foods always tends to get that stuff before anyone else). She has since saw them at Walmart, a store called Mothers (only in California) and a store called Sprouts. She said that depending on where your friend lives she would probably have the most luck at Walmart or Whole Foods since they tend to be the most common throughout the United States. Hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

