I Experimented … With Kale

2

There’s several reasons why I started this blog and do varying posts.

  1. I want to help those in the St. John’s, NL area find out what options are available in terms of gluten intolerance and other dietary restrictions … My main focus is in dining out, and this is just starting to kick off. Expect the premier post, soon! 🙂
  2. To share my experiences in exploring natural living and cooking. I’m just a regular Joe, with no  nutrition or culinary background. I assure you that if I can do it, you can most certainly can too.
  3. I want to learn from others. I post things because I want to tell the story of what I’ve tried and attempted, but I want to get ideas from others like me who are exploring the same things and what they’ve found has worked and what hasn’t.

So today, I experimented with Kale. I’ve been wanting to try out cooking with Kale for a long time. Mostly from seeing various graphics on the benefits of Kale such as this one:

And also from seeing various posts from my friend Sharon, at Am I Vegan Now?, on how much she loves Kale. More recently she’s got me thinking about a trying out a breakfast scramble.

So today, I decided to try out a Kale Scramble.

Kale Scramble

I went with Sharon’s advice and used ingredients that I had on hand in my pantry and fridge. Last week’s Small Fruit and Veggie Box from Real Food Market consisted of organic Kale, Spinach, Potatoes, Tomatoes and Bananas. So, for the scramble, I used:

  • Organic kale
  • Organic Potatoes
  • Organic Tomatoes
  • Organic onion (left over from my last RFM purchase)
  • Organic pine nuts (that I purchased at Whole Foods when I was in Toronto recently)

as well as:

  • Non-organic red and green peppers
  • Non-organic bacon

 … as I mentioned at the start of this post, this is my exploration into more natural living so I’m not 100% organic, but I’m getting there 🙂

I fried the bacon in a separate pan in order to remove excess fat. I fried all of the harder veggies first (such as the potato, peppers and onion) and once softened, I added in the kale and tomato. As for seasonings, I didn’t need a lot because the veggies naturally give a lot of flavour … as well as the bacon … but I did add in a pinch of celery salt at the end.

The result was delicious! Thanks Sharon for making me want to try out cooking with Kale … and attempting a scramble. It was as easy and delicious as you said it would be 🙂

Do you cook with Kale? If so, care to share links to your favourite recipes? How about Scrambles? Have you tried any interesting concoctions? 

2 comments on “I Experimented … With Kale

  1. thtgrl says:

    This looks super yummy! I might have to give that a try sometime soon…Maybe with some added sweet pots or butternut squash..?? (since they are both major favs) I buy the Natural Selections bacon. Its not organic but it doesn’t have any nitrates or all those yuckies and its really tasty! http://i2-store.walmart.ca/images/WMTCNPE/858/856/858856_Enlarged_1.jpeg.. Its kinda hard to mess up bacon though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

