I Tried This Blueberry Smoothie … So Did My iPhone

2

Well, my iPhone technically didn’t try my smoothie. But for a while I thought that a blueberry fragment had somehow made its way onto the inside of my iPhone camera lens. Turns out, it was from me being duped by a Ninja Kitty, named Gizmo. But more on that later.

I had purchased this cookbook from Living Without about a year ago. It was an attempt to find a cool recipe to make for my newly vegan friend, Sharon, who blogs at Am I Vegan Now? …. but she, along with her boyfriend, moved to the opposite side of the country and as a result, I never did get to make her anything from it. I have a ton of things flagged to try, but hadn’t actually tried any of them.

This past weekend I was in the mood to try out a new smoothie recipe. I had picked up a few individual packs of Vega to try out. My “quack” had suggested to both my guy and I that we try Vega. My first attempt at trying Vega was back in 2008ish, and I had trouble getting the stuff down. But, more recently I had read that Sharon thoroughly enjoys Vega from many of her posts, and I was interested  to see if I would like it (considering that I had heard that their formula had changed). My “quack” had also suggested that I incorporate chia seeds into my diet, and I found this smoothie recipe in the Gluten-Free Vegan Comfort Food Cookbook that included chia seeds:

Peach and Blueberry Protein Smoothie

Serves 4

  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used Vega Vanilla & Almond)
  • 2 cups milk substitute (I used almond milk)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon flax seeds (I had none so I substituted more chia)
  • 4 cups organic blueberries (I only had frozen non-organic at the time)
  • 1/2 cup organic peaches (again, I only had frozen non-organic)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • ice (optional)
  • mint leaves for garnish

IMG_1748

Not knowing if I was going to like the recipe or not, I decided to only make one quarter of the recipe. It was a good thing I didn’t. I realized that I was more interested in peachiness of the recipe, but it was overshadowed by the intensity of the blueberries. If you are a lover of all things blueberry … then this is the smoothie for you! I think that I was more in love with the intense purple colour than the taste. I’ve always said that colour makes me smile, and the hue of this smoothie definitely made me 🙂

Blueberry Smoothie

I found the texture to be a slightly gritty due to the Vega, but it was much more better than when I had tried the Vega on it’s own back in 2008. I found that if I used a straw to drink it down, it was much more easier to drink because the texture would bypass the sides of my tongue.

I’d probably try this recipe again, but would probably swap the blueberry to peach proportions. It felt good to be drinking the smoothie. I knew that I was having something that was healthy for me. But I just couldn’t handle that much blueberry.

Have you tried Vega smoothies or anything from this cookbook? If so, let me know what you think! 🙂

Oh right …. you’re probably wondering what my iPhone thought of the smoothie 😉

Not long after I made this smoothie, I noticed a small purple speck on my iPhone screen. Only to later realize that it wasn’t on the screen, it was actually on the camera lens. No amount of trying to clean it would get it off. So I was convinced that the fragment must have somehow gotten in under the lens. My bro-in-law was convinced that it was a chip. But I pulled up the pictures of the smoothie making process on my phone and how there was no sign of the speck until after I had blended the blueberries. And I convinced him that it was in fact, blueberry on the lens.

Contrary to popular belief … while I was looking at photos on my laptop to see which ones I would upload for this post, I discovered that on a larger screen, I could see that “blueberry” speck in photos taken previously to turning on the blender. They were well blended into the background (much like a “Where’s Waldo?” graphic), but they were there.

So, of course I wanted to pinpoint the moment at which I acquired the-speck-formally-known-as-blueberry. And low and behold, I found the instant at which it first appeared … was after meeting a cat (a.k.a Ninja Kitty, Gizmo) that was up for adoption at PetSmart.

Available for Adoption at the St. John's PetSmart, http://stores.petsmart.com/Store/Details/2159

Available for Adoption at the St. John’s PetSmart, http://stores.petsmart.com/Store/Details/2159

Stealthy Ninja Kitty, Gizmo, pops up when you least expect him ;)

Stealthy Ninja Kitty, Gizmo, pops up when you least expect him 😉

Stealthy Ninja Kitty, Gizmo. Plotting his attack.

Stealthy Ninja Kitty, Gizmo. Plotting his attack.

And just above Gizmo’s ear is the not-so-blueberry speck. I remembered that I had dropped my phone when Gizmo startled me. Turns out that my bro-in-law’s chip hypothesis was correct after all. Don’t believe me that he’s a Ninja Kitty? Check out this video:

Honestly, if we were cat people and also not allergic, I would totally have brought Gizmo home. I know it seems like he just wants to take Jax out, but I’m sure it’s just an act of displaying dominance and in a short amount of time they’d adjust. I think he has a quirky personality, much like Jax and I could see them eventually being buds. We’ve always described Jax as being stealthy. Looks like Gizmo is his feline match. LOL.

I’m not sure if Gizmo is still up for adoption. But, If he is and you’re interested in adopting him – give the SPCA or PetSmart a call (or visit!)

2 comments on “I Tried This Blueberry Smoothie … So Did My iPhone

  1. trblmkr says:

    I love Vega! Personally, I prefer the Vega Sport, Performance Protein powder for things like smoothies. http://shop.myvega.com/sequel-estore-us/Vega-Sport/vega_sport_performance_protein_single_vanilla_usa It has a significantly higher protein content than the other Vega varieties and is FAR less gritty. Given most of my smoothies are mainly berry based, Im usually feeling pretty good on fiber and carbs. So I feel that the “Sport” makes for an ideal addition. I have also added the Vega Sport into my bowl(s) of GoGo Quinoa’s, 4 Grain Hot Cereal and it was very tasty. I usually use the other Vega varieties, on their own, with simply some kind of liquid, as a quick and easy meal replacement/snack between meals (with LOTS of ice!..they can be kind of thick and the melting ice helps keep them from feeling as “slimy” to me) My fav is the Vega One, Chai flavor.

    I will admit that Im kind of grateful (for Jax) that you are allergic to cats. I know you think that kitty would have finally decided to play nice but something tells me that you could have, very possibly, ended up having a true war zone in your house if that kitty ever ended up coming home with you. Yes, I too felt like that kitty wanted to reenact an UFC battle with Jax. : /

    Also, just FYI, Costco carries big bags of Wild Organic Blueberries in their frozen section, if you haven’t ever noticed them!

    • That’s good to know about the Vega Sport because my guy picked up several individual packs of it to try and I was a bit nervous if he was going to hate it or not. He’s a little pickier than me when it comes to trying/eating health foods. I was afraid that he would complain of it’s grittiness. Sounds like he might like it! 🙂

      The chai flavour is my friend, Sharon’s favourite too!

      Hehe. I wouldn’t have literally taken Gizmo home with me right away (if I were interested in owning a cat). It would have been with much caution on my part …. especially considering that I have a huge eye phobia and would be frightened to death of Jax getting an eye clawed out by the cat ;). There was an SPCA volunteer there at the time and she had made the comment that although it appeared that Gizmo looked like he wanted to take Jax out, that after a short introductory period they’d actually probably get along quite well. I think if the cat were to convey assertiveness towards Jax then he would take on a much more passive role. We realized this when he was a pup and we were visiting our neighbours who had a new kitten at the time. We had the two animals on leashes and we were getting them to warm up to each other. At one point Jax got a little too close to Abbie (the cat) and she took her paw and struck Jax on the head. You could literally hear the *THUMP* it was that loud, lol. Since that day Jax always yields to Abbie and it’s like he respects her authoritay, lol. Abbie is clawless so my comfort level is much more tolerable for them interacting. We’ve stopped by PetSmart on several occasions and have seen Gizmo at the adoption center and he seemed less reactive as he’s gotten more familiar with Jax. We’ll probably stop by again tomorrow to visit and see if he’s found a new home. He’s got lots of personality so I hope that he finds a good family 🙂

      Awesome regarding the blueberries at Costco. I REALLY need to get me a membership! 🙂

Leave a Reply

