“Quack! Quack! Naturopath Attack!”

Good. Now that I have your attention, I’d like to talk about my experience with Naturopaths.

The title of this post might mislead you to think that I’m making fun of naturopaths. This is absolutely not the case – there is a story behind the title.

First of all, I enjoy the word Quack. Its on my Favourite Words List (yes, I have a list, and Quack just happens to be on it … along with squirrel (as in to “squirrel away” money), kerchief, marjoram, epiphany and shenanigans).

Secondly, the title is related to an email from my friend, Sharon.

In 2012, about a year after I visited a naturopath for the first time, Sharon was asking about the experience. She was very interested in the test that the naturopath performed and decided to get the contact details from me. She later made an appointment for herself and was extremely excited about her assessment. A few weeks went by and in the same afternoon as her appointment, she sent me an email.

Now, there are two thing that you need to know about Sharon:

  1. she can get excitably enthusiastic about things that interest her
  2. she has a love of rhyming.

So when her email came in describing her excitement of her naturopath experience and her results, I was pleasantly surprised to find that she had titled the email “Quack! Quack! Naturopath Attack!” (she said had she had more time, she would have come up with a better title).

Like myself, Sharon loved “the quack”. She had planned on asking her thoughts about a book that she had read called “Eat Right for Your Blood Type” but the naturopath actually brought it up before Sharon had a change to mention it. She also asked if she was tired when checking her adrenals and when Sharon mentioned feeling like she could have a nap in the middle of the day and just attributed it to hating her job, the naturopath went on a long (but positive) rant on how Sharon should quit her job and find something that she loved. Sharon left the appointment feeling incredibly inspired 🙂

So how did I decide that I should try out a naturopath? I told the story in my previous post “I started a what!?!“. During my initial visit, I was a little skeptical of the apparatus that she used. Perhaps it’s the engineer in me. But I think I’m a little more right-brained than the typical engineer and as a result, I was able to let that out of my mind and just go with the flow. And as I explained in my previous post, she hit the nail on the head with a lot of her results.

I went back to this naturopath several times, and even had my aunt and my guy try them out. My aunt followed her advice for a month or so, but found the restrictions a little hard due to living in a small town and found the remedies that she had to purchase to be expensive. My guy felt similarly about the cost of the remedies and just didn’t have the motivation to avoid all of the things that he had been instructed on. We all left the appointments with a list of all of the things to avoid. And it was a very long list of things. With no real indication of how much these foods affected us. Just a list instructing us to not eat this, this, … and this.

When I was on sick leave from work for depression the first two months of 2012 (see How Our Wedding Indirectly Inspired Food Allergies Etcetera post), I was seeing my psychologist once a week. During this time, I started talking about what I was passionate about and I started talking about my restaurant ideas for a restaurant that caters to people with food allergies and other dietary restrictions. My psychologist found this idea to be extremely interesting and shared with me that she would love if such a place were to open in St. John’s because she is vegetarian but also has extreme chemical sensitivities and can only eat organic foods. Knowing that I was keen on naturopaths, she recommended the naturopath that has treated her. She told me that I would LOVE her because of her emphasis on the foods that we eat to treat our ailments versus expensive remedies. She gave me her contact info but it was months before I actually made an appointment to see her.

I’d like to introduce to you Dr. Eddi Kenny, ND, PhD, RN. Dr. Eddi has over 25 years experience in the health care field and you can find out more about her background on her About Page on her company website Innergy – Center for Health & Stress Management. According to the Innergy website, Dr. Eddi covers:

  • nutritional guidance
  • meridian stress assessment
  • integrative lifestyle
  • whole body & mind balance
  • health management & lifestyle
  • stress management & techniques
  • preventative medicine, and
  • innovative approaches to energy

I think this list should be revised to include “life coach”. Dr. Eddi seems interested in helping you figure out what you need to do when you’ve lost that “spark”.  Not sure what I’m talking about? I’ll give you an example.

Immediately after my first session with Dr. Eddi I immediately thought of two people who would totally benefit from a session with Dr. Eddi. One of which was a work colleague …. lets just call her “Jocelyn”. Jocelyn used to have a lot of pep. But over the years her energy and spirit just seemed to have dissipated. Jocelyn was having a lot of issues and it sounded like they may have been diet related. I used this as a way to weasel in the idea of her making an appointment with Dr. Eddi. And she took the bait! It was some number of weeks before she was able to see Dr. Eddi but when Jocelyn returned to work the next day she seemed very enthusiastic about what Dr. Eddi had recommended. The biggest chance that Jocelyn made based on Dr. Eddi’s advice was to cut out chocolate and dairy as her testing indicated that Jocelyn did not react well to those two particular items. Within a few weeks of following Dr. Eddi’s advice, I noticed that the old “Jocelyn” was finally starting to emerge. Her energy was returning, she didn’t appear to be as negative in her thoughts, she was getting more easily excited. She was so happy about the positive results and there was a sudden influx of energy. On times it seemed like she was hyper, there were so many things bouncing around in her head. I really knew that the old Jocelyn was back when she came into my office and told me that she was taking drum lessons. And was loving it! It was great to finally see Jocelyn feeling happy again because the old Jocelyn had been away for far too long. Dr. Eddi was instrumental in helping Jocelyn find her spark again! 🙂

I also made an appointment recently for my guy to see Dr. Eddi for an assessment. He’s been complaining of digestive issues for months, has had very little energy, trouble sleeping, and just didn’t feel balanced in life. I wasn’t too sure about how he was going to find the session, but he actually came out of it very positively and was ready to do what Dr. Eddi suggested and actually has carried through with making those necessary changes. He’s starting out slow but so far has been able to stick to the first few changes that he made. He also felt like Dr. Eddi was coaching him more than directing him like he felt like with the previous naturopath.

The assessment that is performed is a Meridian Stress Assessment. It’s also known as a bio-energetic/electro dermal screening. Basically it uses acupressure points on the body and the results are inputted into a computer analysis in order to give a detailed evaluation of your body’s imbalances, according to Dr. Eddi’s webpage. I like that you can see the testing as it is happening, which was different from the session with the previous naturopath where it was all performed behind your back. At the end, Dr. Eddi prints out a report and goes through it in detail with you. It also gives you a visual to help you quickly see the areas in which your body is balanced, weakened or stressed, which I really liked because you get a feel for how much the items actually affect you. With the other naturopath, we were simply instructed to stay away without a real sense for how much it negatively affected us.

Partial view shown for an indication of the results generated from my Meridian Stress Assessment

Partial view shown for an indication of the results generated from my Meridian Stress Assessment

Above is a partial snapshot of each page of the report. The left hand of each page is cut off but I more or less included it to give an indication of the possible number of readings versus showing the particular items that were tested for me, personally. One thing that I noticed was that there were differences between what was reported on my report versus my guy’s report. This is because the analysis is catered to the individual based on her initial conversations with the patient. The first thing that the report displays is your base point readings. It’s basically an indication of how the various systems in your body (e.g. Endocrine system, nervous system, lungs, intestines, skin, pancreas, kidneys, joints, etc.) are functioning. The report then lists your “holds” readings. The categories tested will vary from person to person, but in my case it included various hormones, acids, minerals, food groups/categories,  vertebrae stresses, and fungual readings. Apparently right now I have an issue with yeast and acidity and she recommended that I do a cleanse to help clear it up. I’m actually starting Renew Life Cleanse Smart this week, which I recently picked up from Whole Health, so I’ll be interested in seeing how well the product worked when I return for a follow-up session.

The other thing that I really liked was instead of prescribing certain supplements or remedies, she just advised us how to eat better so that we could compensate in the areas that our body was weakened. For example, the results showed that my circulation was weakened so she advised me to eat more “warming” foods such as using cumin, curry, cayenne, cardamom, turmeric, etc. in our meals. She also advised me to incorporate more avocados, coconut oil, nuts, seeds, fish, olive oil, chia seeds and hemp hearts into my diet in order to boost up my Omega fatty acids. My iron was also low so she suggested foods to incorporate to boost my iron levels.

Dr. Eddi was also talked a lot with me about finding passion in my life and was thrilled when I told her of my recent meltdown and (well, it wasn’t necessarily the meltdown that she was thrilled about, but) how I had used that experience to become more in tune with what my mind and body need and that I’ve become more self-aware. She also enjoyed my ideas for my future restaurant that caters to people with food allergies and dietary restrictions. Like I said earlier, I feel like Dr. Eddi is not just a naturopath, but a life coach to boot!

The sessions can be quite expensive so check with your health insurance to see if naturopathic/homeopathic assessments are covered. If your insurance covers it, and you can afford it, I highly recommend setting up an appointment with Dr. Eddi …. especially if you’re feeling a bit lost, out of sorts, and not quite sure what else to do to get your life back on track. I’m more than positive that she’ll be able to get your health and stress back on track!!

Cheers to our physical & mental health!

Krista.

Leave a Reply

