Updated: Go Go Quinoa Chocolate Chip Cookies: Converting Cookie Lovers, Everywhere!

2

Ok, so I can’t guarantee that they are converting cookie lovers every where. However …

I’ve always thought of myself as a chewy cookie lover rather than a crunchy cookie lover …. that is, until I discovered Go Go Quinoa’s Chocolate Chip Cookies. I had seen these cookies a dozen times on the grocery shelf and thought “meh” as I passed on by in hopes that I might score some chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies by Udi’s in my local grocery store (I find that they sell out fast at my regular store so when I do find them, it’s like winning the jackpot!). Every year for Christmas Aunt M makes us a FANTASTIC Christmas basket filled with various goodies, and since I’ve discovered my gluten intolerance, she now includes gluten free goodies for me. This year, one of the items that she included in the basket, as you can see in my They Love Me, They Really Love Me post, was a box of the Go Go Quinoa Chocolate Chip cookies. I’ve had an abundance of GF treats in my pantry for quite some time so I was holding on to these new (to me) cookies until my stash diminished somewhat. As I was travelling out of province for the weekend, I decided that it would be an excellent time to break out the new cookies.

When I opened the box, I was noticed that they were individually wrapped. I guess the reason is to avoid cross-contamination or to preserve freshness of the cookies once the box is opened. Some people would consider the additional packaging wasteful, however it came in handy while travelling to/in/from Toronto. Without quick access to a container or ziploc bag, I could quickly throw a couple of cookies into my purse before heading out to do some shopping, so that I could ensure that I would be “with cookie” in the event that I needed a GF snack to tie me over until our next meal.

Despite not being a lover of crunchy cookies, I did enjoy that the cookies were not overly sweet but enough to satisfy my sweet tooth. Just one cookie would seem to do the trick. Normally when I need an after dinner sweet to satisfy my cravings, I would eat a piece of 85% dark chocolate. But lately I’ve been finding myself returning to the pantry throughout the night to eat more chocolate and thus fuel my sweet tooth cravings. After eating just one of these cookies, I didn’t feel the need to go back for another. I was quite satisfied with just the one. It could have something to do with the low amount of sugar and the high amount of protein.

Initially, I was under the impression that there was only 1 g of fat and 2 g of sugar, and 5 g of protein in 2 cookies according to the nutritional labelling on the box that I had picked up, however … when I pulled up the Go Go Quinoa website to pull a picture of their cookies, I noticed that they had a notice stating that there had been an error on the nutritional labelling.

I knew this nutritional info was too good to be true! Source: http://well.ca/products/gogo-quinoa-chocolate-chip-cookies_30766.html

The correct amounts are 9 g of fat, 8 g of sugar and 6 g of protein in 2 cookies according to the updated nutritional information on their website. When you compare this to the nutritional information of other gluten-containing chocolate chip cookies such as Chips Ahoy! (for example), the Go Go Quinoa cookies are slightly better in comparison with the sugar content, not a lot different in fat content, but fair much better when it comes to the protein content.

So, although they aren’t the “super-cookie” that I had originally pegged them out to be, they are still pretty fantastic. I love that I don’t feel like I need to eat the entire box like I do after having just one of the “other guys” due to sugar spikes and lows. They taste good, are a nice little healthier alternative and are very satisfying.

I now regret passing on them all of those times that I perused past them in the GF cookie aisle at the grocery store. Thanks Aunt M for adding this pack to our Chirstmas gift this year!!

Have you tried these cookies? If so, what did you think?

So here’s the update:

It came to my attention after Brian made the following comment:

Screen Shot 2013-02-21 at 8.30.14 PM

At first I thought “Aren’t all cookies technically evil, Brian?” I know that I need a lot of self-control when it comes to sweets and don’t exactly possess a lot of it. In the original post I had done a rough estimate in my head, so this time I wanted to confirm that I had done my head-math correctly, and also to visually explain to Brian why I thought these cookies were “pretty good”. I did a little spreadsheet comparison to see how these cookies compared to non-GF Chips Ahoy and several different brands of crunchy GF chocolate chip cookies. I started working on this during my lunch break at work. Tonight when I ate one of the cookies after supper I noticed on the side of the box that the nutrition label was now saying that there was only 2 g of protein in 2 cookies …. and I was positive that earlier today that the image that I included in my post (that I had pasted from their site) said 6 g of protein. So I pulled up their website and sure enough, the nutritional info had been revised once again. I decided to revisit my cookie analysis from earlier today…

The amended (x2) nutritional content info. Source: http://www.gogoquinoa.com/products/cookies/quinoa-cookies-chocolate-chips/

The amended (x2) nutritional content info.
Source: http://www.gogoquinoa.com/products/cookies/quinoa-cookies-chocolate-chips/

If it wasn’t for Brian’s questioning of their “goodness”, I likely would not have picked up on the fact that the nutritional info had once again been amended. Now I was even more curious as to how these cookies stacked up to the rest. I started out by creating a table of the nutritional data that I was interested in (originally I personally wasn’t really concerned with the sodium content, but seeing how Brian had brought it up I thought I’d consider this factor as well). Kinnikinnick labeled it’s serving as “1 cookie” so I googled, and according to this site, one cookie is about 8.1 g.

Collection of nutritional information for various crunchy chocolate chip cookies

Collection of nutritional information for various crunchy chocolate chip cookies

I then wanted to compare each GF cookie and the non-GF Chips Ahoy cookies to the Go-Go Quinoa version so I figured out the multiplication factor necessary to apply to each group of nutritional info. This is how it turned out:

Comparison of other cookies to Go-Go Quinoa

Comparison of other cookies to Go-Go Quinoa

It turns out that the Go-Go Quinoa cookies are the best in terms of sodium, sugar and protein content. In terms of fat content and calories, they appeared to be on par with the others.Originally I was under the impression that the amount of protein was 6 g, and for me personally this gave them brownie points and compensated for the fact that they are slightly higher in fat and calorie content compared to the others.

Although the nutritional information had several hiccups, they seem to be on par with the rest of the GF crunchy chocolate chip cookies (or at least the ones that I’ve tried, personally). As I mentioned above, with the Go-Go Quinoa cookies I seem to be quite satisfied with one, whereas the other brands I tend to keep going back to the package and the next thing you know I’ve emptied the first tier of cookies in the package. The serving size for the Go-Go Quinoa cookies is listed as 2 cookies. If I only eat one, I’m only taking in 85 calories, 4.5 g of fat, 32.5 mg of sodium , 4 g of sugar and get 1 g of protein. So considering all this, the Go-Go Quinoa Chocolate Chip Cookie is not the super-cookie that I thought I had found, and they might not necessarily be converting cookie lovers everywhere … but I still personally maintain that they are a “pretty good” cookie.

Care to join the are they / aren’t they “good” debate?

2 comments on “Updated: Go Go Quinoa Chocolate Chip Cookies: Converting Cookie Lovers, Everywhere!

  1. brian says:

    Pretty good? The fat content has gone up 9 TIMES, the sodium from zero to 65??? These could be made by mother theresa, and they would still be EVIL

    • Thanks for leaving this comment, Brian. It made me realize that the nutritional information had been revised once again. I amended the post to reflect this. See above. But I still think that they are comparable to other crunchy GF Chocolate Chip Cookies that are available to me locally and I’m still of the personal opinion that they are “pretty good”. Moderation is always key for me when it comes to cookies. Something that I struggle with but am trying to improve.

Leave a Reply

