Home for a Rest: Twillingate, Newfoundland & Labrador, Canada

2

For those of you reading this post, who are Newfoundlander and/or Canadian, chances are that you are already singing this tune in your head ๐Ÿ˜‰

This past weekend was Remembrance Day long weekend and we were home to visit family in our hometown, Twillingate. I used the breaks in between visiting family to do some long overdue blog, CCA-NL and FAE Facebook Page work, and was happy to start working on a blog post about my trip to Twillingate back in July of this year.

Twillingate is one of the most beautiful places to visit during the summer. Depending on what time of the summer you visit, your encounters could include icebergs, whales, theatres, festivals, etc. etc. If you’d like to learn more about Twillingate and what it has to offer, check out these websites:

Town of Twillingate:ย http://www.townoftwillingate.ca

Twillingate Island Tourism Association (TITA):ย http://www.twillingatetourism.ca

One of the highlights of our summer visits, and the biggest event to take place, in Twillingate is the Fish, Fun & Folk Festival which has been an annual event for over 30 years (find out more about the FFFF here:ย http://www.fishfunfolkfestival.com). For (at least) the past five years, my guy and I have been trying to convince our city friends to travel home with us for the Festival. Finally, this past July our friends Karen, Chris and their Golden-Doodle Zoe, decided to take us up on our offer! ๐Ÿ™‚

First on the agenda was some site-seeing. We took the dogs on a drive and stopped for a short walk and some photo ops at Long Point Lighthouse.

Photos by Karen Power

Then we dropped in to my parents house but on the way Karen wanted to get some photos and I told her that this was my bus stop as a kid. It’s a beautiful spot, and has become a bit of a tourist attraction. Our friends, Kayla & Allan who blog over at Treasure Island Caching, wrote an entire blog post on this location when they recently visited.

Photos by Karen Power

Next we were on to a beautiful part of Twillingate Island called Back Harbour, where my guy’s parents had their boat docked.

Photos by Karen Power

We took Karen and Chris out with the hopes of stumbling upon some whales. It wasn’t long before we found two Minke whales.

Photos by Karen Power

Photo by Sheila Guy

… Apparently Chris and I didn’t get the memo on coordinating outfits with drinks …. so we grabbed the nearest objects we could find to hold in our hands ๐Ÿ˜‰ …

It used to be a tradition to watch the fireworks on the Friday night of the Festival from the middle of Twillingate Harbour in my pa-in-law’s boat …. but in recent years he’s downsized his boat and now we spend the afternoon and early evening on the water and return to watch the fireworks at their dock which is adjacent to the dock where the fireworks are launched. It makes for one FANTASTIC experience… not only are you directly underneath the fireworks but you can also smell the gunpowder, you are so close! I’ve attached a link below to a video of the fireworks that Chris took with his iPhone, but the video doesn’t do justice to watching in person. The fireworks display is the highlight for the festival and a lot of money is invested by the town’s people and businesses. Every year the display seems to get better and we’ve often said that the fireworks show is far better than what we see in our capital city, St. John’s! ๐Ÿ™‚

Twillingate Fireworks 2012 Fish Fun & Folk Festival

The next day Rob’s dad took Rob and Chris out fishing while Karen and I decided to take Zoe on a very short hike to a Natural Arch located in another beautiful section of town called Little Harbour. We took a wrong turn at one point, enjoyed the view and eventually made our way back to the correct trail.

Photos by Karen Power

Once our hike was over, we decided to get some lunch. Because I wanted Karen to get to enjoy some of the local life, I decided that we should dine out. Normally I would have suggested that we head to R&J’s Restaurant which used to be a guilty pleasure of mine before going gluten-free and I was so disappointed by the fact that I can no longer indulge in the food that I loved so much as a kid. However, my Aunt works for the local hotel, The Anchor Inn and I knew that they had at least one gluten-free option. My Aunt was diagnosed with Collagenous Colitis earlier this year and in order to keep her symptoms under control, she had to do a complete overhaul on her diet. As a result, she had to cut out all foods containing gluten, dairy, and high in sugar (and perhaps likely more restrictions that I’m forgetting). So it wasn’t surprising to find that the restaurant contained within the hotel, Georgie’s at the Anchor, had decided to dedicate a fryer specifically for gluten-free fish & chips (which they note on their menu). ย Not being a huge lover of fish and chips, I asked if they had any other options available that were considered gluten-free, and I decided on their Island Nachos.

Although it isn’t listed on the online menu, for those who are vegetarian and visiting Twillingate, Georgie’s offers a Veggie Burger and I was told by my manager when she visited Twillingate with her family, that her daughter thought that Georgie’s Veggie Burger was one of the best that she’s had to date.

We also went to a new coffee shop in town, called the Crow’s Nest Cafe, for some delicious Iced Cafe’s and I discovered that they sell Gluten-Free almond flour brownies (high-five, Crow’s Nest!!). I think this is the second summer that they’ve been open but it was my first time that I had stumbled upon them. I highly recommend this place. I unfortunately only took photos from the exterior, but you can check out what they have to offer (and what they look like on the inside) if you jump over to their blog:ย http://crowsnestcafe.blogspot.ca

That afternoon once the boys returned from fishing and cleaned up, We decided to take Karen & Chris on a tour of Auk Island Winery. The interesting thing about the winery is that it is the same building where I attended Kindergarten before it closed and we all transferred to the elementary school on the main part of the island. I have to admit, it felt a little weird walking in to the building and seeing it converted into a winery. …. and it was funny to discover that its hallways were only about a third of the length that I recalled in my memories. I enjoy the fact that evidence still remains of the lines on the gymnasium floor ๐Ÿ™‚

While we are enjoying the wine tasting at the end of the tour, Rob received the following text from his dad: “Orcas”. Meanwhile, back on the Ma & Pa Guy’s boat …..

Photos by Sheila Guy

We couldn’t believe that we missed this! Almost every year for the past 5 years there has been a pod of Orca’s that have passed through during the weekend of the festival…. the first time we encountered them was the most fascinating of all, but encountering them never grows old! ๐Ÿ™‚

That evening we had a BBQ over at Rob’s parents’ house along with my parents, my brother-in-law Dave and his girlfriend Sarah and their dog Waffles. Between Rob, Chris and my pa-in-law the BBQ was attended to, while my parents attended to the dogs and the rest of us took care of everything else in the kitchen. I had brought home the ingredients to make Go-Go Quinoa Salad and it once again was a hit. And to cap off a perfect weekend, we ended the night with a fire in the back yard.

Photos by Sheila Guy

I hope you enjoyed my account of a fabulous weekend in my hometown of Twillingate! It truly is a beautiful place to visit ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments on “Home for a Rest: Twillingate, Newfoundland & Labrador, Canada

  1. Lynette Smith says:

    Great Blog Krista, makes me homesick! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s funny how when I am home for the FFFF I always feel so rushed and don’t make a point to take in the new sights as well as the old that I have always taken for granted. Looking forward to my next trip home!

  2. Jill says:

    Love all the photos, Krista! Now I feel homesick :(. Great post!

Leave a Reply

