Recipe Modification Experimentation: Dairy-Free, Vegan Pumpkin Smoothie

1

You win some …. you loose some ….

(I haven’t quite decided yet where exactly this recipe modification attempt falls in between these two options)

Ever since I seen this image shared by Kathy Smart of “Live the Smart Way” on her Facebook Page, I’ve been dying to try a pumpkin smoothie!

I knew that I just happened to have a can of pumpkin in my pantry that didn’t get used on Thanksgiving Weekend a few weeks back, so I finally decided to attempt a similar version of this smoothie with the ingredients that I already had available in my kitchen.

Raw banana upsets my stomach so I decided to try some frozen mango that I had in the freezer. I also only had regular almond milk instead of the vanilla version so I attempted to duplicate the same thing by adding vanilla extract. I happened to have some Clubhouse Pumpkin Pie Spice in my cupboard so I figured I could just use that instead of the cinnamon, ginger, allspice, and nutmeg. In addition to this, I’m convinced that dairy doesn’t agree with my guy, so I just happened to have a carton of Healthy Top dairy free whipping cream (almond & cashew based) in the fridge so I decided that now was the time to test it out.

Let’s focus on the “awesome” lessons learned from the recipe mod attempt:

  • Healthy Top = Awesome Top. I was a little weary when I cut open the carton and the contents didn’t pour out. It had solidified on the fridge and I had to scoop the contents out with a spoon. As I was turning to place the spoon in the dishwasher, I licked the spoon and discovered that the taste was fantastic, despite it not resembling anything like regular whipping cream. I flipped the switch on the mixer and the product quickly softened up and looked as real whipping cream should.

Now for the real lessons learned:

  • Skip the Pumpkin Pie Spice and go for the real stuff. The Clubhouse mix contained the spices that the recipe called for, but also included Cloves & Sulphites. I’ve tried this mix in a failed attempt to make a homemade version of a Pumpkin Spice Latte and I think it’s time to give up on it.
  • Frozen Mangoes were not the best substitute for bananas in this case. I think bananas would have given a better texture/consistency. Because I didn’t enjoy the the Pumpkin Pie Spice mix, I added in more frozen mangoes as I didn’t think that the smoothie was sweet enough when really it was the spice that was just to overpowering (to be fair, it should be noted that I probably added too much of the spice mix to begin with)
  • 1 cup of grated pumpkin is not likely equivalent to 1 cup of grated pumpkin. In fact, I think this is where it all started to go down hill. The pumpkin was too overpowering from the start so I had to play a round with the other ingredients to try and balance it out.
  • There’s a reason they sell Vanilla Almond Milk. Don’t bother trying to replicate it. Postpone your recipe for a few days until you can get some.

Although I pointed out several things that were wrong with my recipe mod attempt, don’t get me wrong; it did taste ok…… It just wasn’t of the “leap out of your seat to go write a blog post about it” calliper. The main thing I took away from this process is that I can find a good replacement for regular whipping cream that tastes great! So all is not lost! Here’s to hoping that my next attempt at this modified smoothie is a success!! 🙂

Cheers!

One comment on “Recipe Modification Experimentation: Dairy-Free, Vegan Pumpkin Smoothie

  1. sounds and looks good! =D

Leave a Reply

