Salmonella Alert: Purefit Peanut Butter Crunch Bars (Gluten-Free/Low Glycemic/Vegan Product)

8

The CFIA has issued a warning that some PUREFIT brand PEANUT BUTTER CRUNCH BARS may contain Salmonella. This is part of a very large U.S. recall of certain peanut products.

The recalled bars are sold individually and in packs of 15. The individual bars have Best Before Dates between 1 March 2012and 12 July 2013.

For more information visit: http://www.inspection.gc.ca/english/corpaffr/recarapp/2012/20121016e.shtml

8 comments on “Salmonella Alert: Purefit Peanut Butter Crunch Bars (Gluten-Free/Low Glycemic/Vegan Product)

  1. Felicia says:

    So, umm, as it turns out, I got this Email about the recall and thought “wow. Ive had those a few times…glad I didnt get sick!” Then, later that day, I suddenly had an epiphany come to me. This year I came down with four…thats right.. FOUR terrible “stomach bugs”. The first was fairly typical of a stomach bug and I thought nothing of it. The three following were HORRIFIC and I was out of work for a good week with each one. All three, after the first, had a very odd underlying symptom that I have NEVER had in my life and by the time “stomach bug” four hit I was convinced something might be wrong with me and I went to the doctor once I was a bit better, checked for parasites, etc., all came back negative. Sooo, long story short… I had done a food log of everything I ate 24 hrs prior to the fourth bug to make sure I would remember everything I had to try to solve the mystery. We never made any connections till now….BINGO. I ate a 1/2 of a PB PureFit bar on my way home from work the night before I got horribly sick the next day…Aaaand I now recall eating one the second time I got sick too….. All my symptoms kept making me think maybe it was salmonella but nothing I ate seemed to make sense for that…. So the good news is I survived (what Im pretty sure was) three bouts of salmonella and one stomach flu this year… Thanks SUNLAND!! : /

    • I saw you make a comment about this on Facebook and thought it was the most horrible thing I’ve ever heard!

      I was in Whole Health last week and as I was at the counter getting checked out I seen that they had 3 flavours of Purefit bars but not the PB one. I said “It’s funny, I never remembered seeing or heard of Purefit before until this recall and now here they are starring back at me”. We chatted about the recall and I mentioned how I saw a friend comment on Facebook how she realized her multiple bouts of stomach flu were actually Salmonella poisoning. And she looked at me and said “is your friend’s name Felicia?”

      Small world, lol. Only in Newfoundland 🙂

  2. Felicia says:

    Bwahahahah. Oh MY. It sure is now, isnt it?? Thats just too funny. Guess I better stop all that trash talking I do and REALLY be careful what I say around here! 😉
    She actually did have the PB ones out. I went in there the day I got that Email and as I was checking out I saw them and asked if she had heard about the recall. She said “No” so I pulled it up on my phone and we checked he box and she actually had a box of the ones that they were recalling…. I would have to tell you the whole story and the way the thing went down to really do it justice but it was THERE that I actually tied everything together and had my epiphany. It was super weird.
    SO, umm, you should go back and talk to her…. I actually thought of YOU the day I was in there because she was saying how the space next to her is open and how she would love to open an allergy friendly bakery, etc right next door!! 🙂 I think I might have even said something like “Oh. I was just talking to someone last night who would love to do the same concept as well”… Its a small, SMALL, world…

    • Hehe. She actually mentioned that to me as well and I think she mentioned how she had that exact same conversation with you, lol. I told her that I actually have a location in mind that’s on the outskirts of the downtown centre. My plan is for a two story location so I can have a community room upstairs 🙂

      • Felicia says:

        LOL. Nice… could you please get on that then??.. I need a job!! 🙂 😉

      • Haha. I’m pretty sure I pitched the idea of being a restaurant manager for my restaurant within the first hour of meeting you, but I think you implied that you weren’t interested in running a restaurant, lol. Help me find someone with experience in running a restaurant so that they can manage it for me and that will be the starting point for finally starting on my business plan. Then we can do some serious talking 🙂

      • Felicia says:

        Ok, ok. True enough. And while I didnt think you DIDNT mean it, I just know how ppl talk about these things but dont TOTALLY mean it… And what I think I was saying was that I dont want to be the sole owner in a restaurant. Because, as you know, they take some serious time investment and life investment and I dont want to be that chained and bound to it… For the most part I prob could and WOULD be totally psyched to help you. I wish I knew more ppl here. If I were back home I could get you a TON of ppl to help or simply offer advice… Im sure I could still come up with something/someone to help with anything I couldnt though… We should get together for coffee/tea sometime and talk. 🙂

      • We should definitely get together for a coffee/tea date and chat. I know a fantastic coffee shop downtown with great lattes which carries GF treats from Nourish bakery 🙂

        I’ll message you on Facebook 🙂

Leave a Reply

