Recipe: Vegan Gluten-Free Coffee Crisp Clusters

6

In my last post I talked about how I found a Coffee Crisp Hot Chocolate mix when I was visiting friends in Halifax. I looked at the ingredients and it appeared to be gluten-free after consulting my pocket dictionary that I received from the Canadian Celiac Association. And just for good measure, I contacted Nestle and they assured me that if there was any possibility of it being contaminated with gluten, then gluten would have been listed as a “may contain” ingredient.

And it was just like I remembered Coffee Crisp bars tasting ….. absolute deliciousness!

My next thought? …… Must.Find.Gluten.Free.Coffee.Crisp.Bar.Recipe!

I expected to have to scroll through pages and pages of search engine results to find recipe links until I found the proper one, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that I hit the jackpot with the first result! www.iheartwellness.com .

The recipe sounded super easy and the pictures of the clusters looked inviting. I then read the About section of the blog and my jaw dropped at how much I could relate to Kris and her life experiences! I’ll send you over to her blog to get the recipe but the gist of the recipe is as follows: dark chocolate, grapeseed oil, coffee, coconut flour and flax, mix in a bowl and toss it in the freezer. When you have things to do, people to see, and topics to blog about … you can’t go wrong with a recipe as simple as that! 🙂

For the most part, the ingredients were fairly straight forward. I knew that I’ve never seen Perky’s Crunchy Flax Cereal at any of the nearby supermarkets, and I had also planned on visiting my li’l cousin, Monica, in Clarenville that coming weekend. Knowing that she’s crafty like me and enjoys “baking”, I figured that this recipe would be a fun thing to do together…. but if I had to rely on ordering the Perky’s online, I wouldn’t be able to receive the package in time and would have to hold off for a few more weeks before being able to try these little morsels out.

Or would I??

Enter Exhibit A: Real Food Market. An online organic store offering delivery in the St. John’s area. Here’s how they work. I had remembered corresponding through email with the owner a while back and remembered them saying that they would be stocking gluten-free items. I wondered if they would carry Perky’s. …… and I was in luck. I checked my address to figure out my delivery zone, and my Perky’s (in addition to the other items that I purchased) would be delivered to my door on Thursday night, just in time for me to pack it in my bag before heading to Clarenville for the weekend 🙂

I forgot to bring a few things out to Clarenville with me: like a vegan dark chocolate bar, grapeseed oil and decaf coffee so I had to do a little improvisation. Despite this, the result was still fantastic!! And I can totally understand Kris’ obsession with Perky’s!!

The odd thing, I came to discover once we were finished making the recipe, was that Monica doesn’t even actually like chocolate!  I’m sure that the most confused look rolled across my face followed by the biggest “Grinch” of a grin ….. it was all mine. Those delicious little nuggets, were all mine 😉

Thanks to Kris at iheartwellness.com for posting her recipe and Real Food Market for stocking Perky’s! You are awesome!! 🙂 🙂

6 comments on “Recipe: Vegan Gluten-Free Coffee Crisp Clusters

  1. Natasha says:

    I’m in Clarenville. What brands chocolate and coffee did you use and where’s was it purchased. I can’t wait to try this. Definitely have to get some Perky’s!

    • I can’t remember the brand of dark chocolate. I know that it was organic and didn’t contain gluten. I used the Enjoy Life chocolate chips. I couldn’t get a box of Starbucks VIA decaf (instant packs) so I used their blond roast variety. Perky’s are great! 🙂

  2. Natasha says:

    Would love to know what products you used for the chocolate and coffee. They sound yummy!

  3. Natasha says:

    Gonna have to order the Perky’s. None available locally in Clarenville. I cannot wait to try these!

  4. Janelle says:

    Perky’s are at Dominion on Stavanger Drive as well.

Leave a Reply

